A beginning, not an ending

image

It’s been a really long time since I’ve written a blog here, and so I wanted to explain a little about what’s been going on for me, and also to give some insight into my thoughts and plans for the future. The last post I wrote here came shortly before I had the life changing news that my wife is pregnant. I couldn’t be happier (if a little terrified) that we’re expecting our first baby, but as I’m sure you can imagine, I’m having to rethink a lot of different aspects of my life. I’ve taken the last few months away from the board gaming hobby to have a period of reflection, and to think through my plans for the future.

So what does all this have to do with game design? Well, it’s showed me that no matter how important my design work is to me, family has to come first. The most immediate thing has been for me to find permanent work, which has meant saying “goodbye” to the luxury of full time game design. The second priority has been to find somewhere settled for us all to live. This is still a work in progress, although we’ve already swapped the city for the country and we’re hoping to get settled soon. I’m still deeply committed to finding a path in life related to game design, but it’s taken a back shelf to my other priorities. I’m still playing with concepts and ideas when I find time, and I certainly haven’t abandoned my work, but the goals I originally set for myself have moved and changed.

The picture posted along with this blog post might look like a dirty old shed, but it’s more than that. This run-down building at the back of my parent’s house has been offered to me to use as a design studio when the time comes. It needs some work to make it usable, but I feel excited about the prospect of having a proper studio space to work in, and it’s nice to still have a future in board games on the horizon. I’m still exited by the possibilities for my game designs, and hopeful for the things I aim to achieve, but I need to see what the future holds and find out what fatherhood has in store for me first. I’ll be sure to come back and make some updates when the time comes, and I hope you’ll still be here when I do. Thanks for reading, and for being a part of my ongoing journey.

A beginning, not an ending

Leave a Reply

